“don’t leave me here alone”

I don’t think that I’ve been in love as such,

although I liked a few folk pretty well.

love must be vaster than my smiles or touch,

for brave men died, and empires rose and fell

for love; girls follow boys to foreign lands,

and men have followed women into hell.

in plays and poem, someone understands

there’s something makes us more than blood and bone,

and more than biological demands.

for me love’s like the wind, unseen, unknown:

I see the trees are bending where it’s been,

I know it leaves wreckage where it’s blown.

I really don’t know what I love you means.

I think it means, ‘don’t leave me here alone.’

– Dark Sonnet, Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

